Topics GREEN world Stories & Images about us contact us

Home »  GREEN world »  UN & NGOs
human rights
Stories & Images
photo journal

2010 Right Livelihood Awards honour the power of change from the grassroots

Right Livelihood, Stockholm, 03 October 2010

This year, there were 120 proposals from 51 countries, whereof 69 candidates from "developing" countries. The 2010 Right Livelihood Awards go to four recipients who will share the € 200.000 cash award:

NNIMMO BASSEY (Nigeria) receives an Award “for revealing the full ecological and human horrors of oil production and for his inspired work to strengthen the environmental movement in Nigeria and globally”. more >>

Bishop ERWIN KRÄUTLER (Brazil) is honoured “for a lifetime of work for the human and environmental rights of indigenous peoples and for his tireless efforts to save the Amazon forest from destruction”. more >>

SHRIKRISHNA UPADHYAY and the organisation SAPPROS (Nepal) are recognised “for demonstrating over many years the power of community mobilisation to address the multiple causes of poverty even when threatened by political violence and instability”. more >>

The organisation PHYSICIANS FOR HUMAN RIGHTS-ISRAEL (Israel) is awarded “for their indomitable spirit in working for the right to health for all people in Israel and Palestine”. more >>

Jakob von Uexkull, Founder and Co-Chair of the Right Livelihood Awards, noted after the jury decision:

“True change starts at the grassroots level: physicians who did not wait for politicians before acting to end unnecessary suffering in the Middle East; villagers who work themselves out of poverty; and environmental movements which unite the victims of ecological devastation. Combine this work on the ground with targeted advocacy, for example for the constitutional rights of indigenous people, and you understand why this year’s Right Livelihood Award Laureates yet again offer role models, whose work and commitment can be replicated throughout the world.”

* Background:

Founded in 1980 the Right Livelihood Awards are presented annually in the Swedish Parliament and are often referred to as 'Alternative Nobel Prizes'. They were introduced "to honour and support those offering practical and exemplary answers to the most urgent challenges facing us today". Jakob von Uexkull, a Swedish-German professional philatelist, sold his business to provide the original funding. Since then, the Award has been financed by individual donors.

photo: logo
UN & NGOs »
Experienced japanese diplomat to head UN political office in Timor-Leste
"ANGEL OF BURUNDI" - Marguerite Barankitse
UN almost doubles amount of funds urgently needes to feed Niger´s hungry
top TOP
imprint | disclaimer